BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   7Post - 7 Series Forum > BMW 7-Series Forums > (G11) 7-series General Discussions

02-19-2024, 11:04 AM   #1
mbtsvntrs
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW 740i

2016 740i - G12 B58 Vanos Issue Software Update

Good morning,
I am new to the BMW community, and I was lucky (from what I've read, and seen) to start with the B58 Engine on my 2016 740i.

The vehicle was purchased in summertime, but when the cold arrived, I encountered a 13070B - VANOS, inlet, cold start: not adjustable.

Followed by a 120408 - Boost pressure control shutdown as a follow-up reaction.

I've gone through a few diag steps, i.e. change of oil being the first (and least expensive) thing, thinking that my VANOS Solenoid was dirty/clogged.

Found out I do not have "VANOS Solenoids" per se, in this engine they are called "VANOS Center Valve".

But before that I changed the VANOS Actuators, thinking it was not only the seals, but also the actuator itself.

The error still there, and I moved to more involved fix, of changing the center valves.

So, after several oil changes, and engine flushes, changing of VANOS Actuators, and Center Valves, the error still there.

The weirdest thing that I noticed however was that when the oil temp reached 90+ Degrees Celsius, the error would go way, but simply shutting car off and re-starting it, and all was well in B58 engine world, no more limp mode.

My next step was an even more involved process, that I really did not want to visit, and that's when I ran into this:
https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/20...36333-9999.pdf

This documents says that the fix is simply a software update:
CORRECTION
Update the vehicle software using ISTA 4.

I'm mentioning all of this because I've gone through some expense getting to this point, I have not done the update because I had a question for the community and hope that someone has an answer.

My questions is: