BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   7Post - 7 Series Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

10-18-2016, 10:25 AM   #1
catchm3ifyoucann
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: car

Career / Investing Advice

Hi Everyone,
A good amount of the user base on here have been very successful in their respective careers, and have made financial decisions that allow them to have multiple streams of income. I was hoping to tap into the knowledge here by gaining some insight around investing and my career path. Any advice would be appreciated. I am a first generation college graduate with my B.S. in Business Administration with a minor in Management (worked throughout college to support myself). Currently I am working in management consulting on the client side (we take a SaaS approach to this).

Pros:
- Decent pay
- Great benefits such as unlimited PTO
- Easy desk job (close to 50hrs week)
- Enough disposable income to pay off student loans in less than 3 years disregarding promotions / pay increase or even lease m3 / m4
- No rent, no car payment, only expense is student loan

Cons:
- Long commute = 3 hours round trip. On Fridays = 4 hours.
- Promotion is more of a lateral move with a 5-7% increase in pay
- Not the exact job I was looking for but took it because it was my best offer and I wanted to start paying off my student loans.

I'd like to venture more into the tech industry and or in mergers & acquisitions / venture capital. Unfortunately that is more aligned to a finance degree, I have considered an MBA program but was told if the school isn't top 15 or even top 25 there is no point. I decided to forgo some great deals I found on an Audi s5 and a lease for an m4, and currently using my income to pay down loans well above the monthly payment. My previous experience in the tech industry was working / interning with Tesla Motors.